The National Curriculum 2014

The National Curriculum was introduced into schools from September 1989 and updated in September 1995 and again in September 2014.

The Act begins by saying that the school curriculum must be broad and balanced and must:

  • promote the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of pupils at the school and of society;  and

  • prepare pupils for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of adult life.


The Education Reform Act describes a pupil's compulsory education in four key stages.

Key Stages of Compulsory Education:

Compulsory education begins in the term after a child’s fifth birthday.  

The desirable outcomes are goals for learning for children prior and up to the end of their Reception year and is now under the heading of the Foundation Stage.  They emphasise early literacy, numeracy and the development of personal and social skills and contribute to children’s knowledge, understanding and skills in other areas” - as stated in Desirable Outcomes for Children’s Learning by the School Curriculum and Assessment Authority.

Key Stage 1 of the National Curriculum begins in Year 1 of schooling

The National Curriculum consists of core and foundation subjects, which must be taught to all pupils of compulsory school age.

Core and foundation subjects of the National Curriculum:

R.E. is provided for all children as the Law requires that 5% of curriculum time is devolved to R.E. and, in addition, the children have a daily act of collective worship.  Parents have the right to withdraw their children from all or part of R.E. and collective worship.  In this instance, the children will remain with a member of staff to complete other work.  Personal, Social, Citizenship & Health Education (PSCHE) is also addressed either within R.E., circle time or discussion.

The following table explains the numbering of the year groups in the school.  Year R is Reception.

Children in Years 2 and 6 take part in National Assessment Procedures, the results of which will be included in end of year reports.  

The Primary National Curriculum 2014

Pratts Bottom Primary School,

Hookwood Road,

Pratts Bottom,




TEL: 01959 532 225

FAX: 01959 532 225


South Orpington Learning Alliance Multi-Academy Trust: a company limited by guarantee, Registered in England: Company Number 07943613, Registered Office: Sandy Bury, Orpington, BR6 9SD”. Pratts Bottom Primary School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment.